Tags

, ,

IMG_2458

I’m a certified cookbook junkie. I love books in general, but cookbooks call out to me. It’s the combination of the glossy pictures, the enticing recipe descriptions, and the sense of a life well lived that pervades them – I want it all. Recently, after admitting to myself that I am truly running out shelf space for any more cookbooks (and no, buying another bookshelf is not really an option), I have come up with a new strategy. I borrow the book from the library (or more accurately, put the book on hold at the library and then wait longingly for weeks, sometimes months, for it to become available), and if I can see at least 20 recipes I’m pretty sure I would make, then I consider buying the book. Otherwise, I just try cooking from them for the next three weeks and then we go our separate ways. It’s an annoying process, but it works.

This recipe for kale omelets is from a recent library book, The A.O.C Cookbook by Suzanne Goin. She has an amazing way of describing recipes that makes you want to try them immediately, even if it means dropping everything (even if your tiny human companion is less than thrilled about this), going to the store, and spending a little longer in front of the stove. Her recipes are pretty flawless (ohhh, the hazelnut cake…but that’s for another day) but usually pretty involved. This was a welcome exception. The only part that takes time is slow-cooking the kale. But the flavor develops beautifully, and you won’t regret it.

In our house, these are more of a dinner omelet (because breakfast for dinner is one of the best ideas EVER), but this would be equally good at other times of day.

Postscript: Ahem. In looking this post over, I realize there are a few too many comments in parentheses. If I were a reader, I would be irritated. So if you are, I understand.

Kale and Goat Cheese Omelets 

Recipe adapted from Suzanne Goin via Bon Appetit

1 heaping pound kale, ribs removed

1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil

2 sprigs rosemary

1 teaspoon red chile flakes

1 cup sliced yellow onion (about half a whole onion)

2 large garlic cloves, thinly sliced

3 tbsp butter

salt and pepper

8 eggs

1/4 cup (preferably whole) milk

6 ounces soft goat cheese (I used less)\

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Blanch the kale for 2 minutes, drain, let it cool, and squeeze out excess water. Chop it up and set aside.

In a large skillet, warm the olive oil over medium heat. Add the rosemary sprigs and chile and cook for one minute. Reduce the heat to low, add the onion and ½ tsp salt, cook for two minutes, and then add in the garlic slices and stir. Cook for about 8 minutes until the onions are soft and starting to brown.

Turn the heat to medium-low, add the kale and oil, stir to coat. Cook for 25-30 minutes, stirring occasionally until the kale is almost black and charred at the edges. Remove the rosemary. Sprinkle some fresh ground pepper, taste for salt, and set aside.

Heat a 10” pan over medium-low heat with a small pat of butter at the bottom. For each omelet, beat 2 eggs with a tbsp. of milk. Add the eggs to the pan and let them cook for about a minute and a half. Use a spatula to lift up one corner of the eggs, tilt the pan, and let the liquid egg on top, run underneath. When the top is still soft but the omelet mostly set, put a few spoonfuls of the kale down the center and a generous sprinkle of goat cheese on top. Fold the omelet into thirds and slide it onto a plate. Repeat with remaining omelets.

