Tags

, ,

IMG_2534

I’m sort of thinking I should have just started a blog on breakfast. Seriously. The list of things I want to post that are morning foods is a mile long. I’m trying not to overload you on them right away, but really, how does one meal get so much awesomeness? Pancakes and waffles and french toast and frittatas and crepes and…it’s a little unfair. The scales are tipped in breakfast’s favor. So trust me to take something perfectly regular and usually savory like polenta and put it on your mind first thing in the morning.

My husband complains that I have too much of a sweet tooth – is there such a thing? He doesn’t get how I can eat something sweet for my main meal. In his world, he would tuck into a plate of eggs smothered in hot sauce, with some chorizo and bacon thrown in for good measure, and then maybe nibble on a few forkfuls of pancake for dessert. But me? I could happily skip all that salt and head straight to the steaming pile of pancakes. Preferably with extra maple syrup. And maybe some fruit compote. And a little whipped cream. Who am I kidding? I’d happily eat a bag of Twix for breakfast. Bring on the sweets, people!

IMG_2533

So it’s no surprise that dessert-ified polenta appeals to me so much. It’s smooth, creamy, and gets a boost from almond meal that cooks right with the cornmeal, adding a delicious nutty taste in the background. I used blueberries on top, but I think just about any fruit would be good here. Also, on my most recent go-around, I was out of almond meal but had some ground hazelnut flour. Turns out – total win.

Breakfast Almond Polenta

Recipe adapted from Food52

1 ½ cups water

1 ½ cups milk

½ cup quick cooking polenta

1/3 cup almond meal (or ground hazelnut flour)

2 tbsp butter

¼ cup honey

½ tsp vanilla

a tiny splash of almond extract

blueberries for garnish

4 tbsp greek yogurt

Bring the milk and water to boil in a medium, heavy bottom saucepan. Once the liquid is boiling, reduce the heat to medium and whisk in the polenta. Whisk continuously for a couple of minutes to prevent any lumps from forming. Let the polenta cook for another 5 minutes or so, whisking occasionally to keep it smooth. Add the almond meal and incorporate completely. Cook for about 5 minutes until it reaches a creamy consistency, then turn off the heat, and add the butter, honey, vanilla, and almond extract. The polenta should be smooth but not firm. Pour into serving bowls and top each bowl with blueberries and a dollop of yogurt.

